Home General Discussion

Career Advancement tips

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
pangarang polycounter lvl 11
So I'd like to become an artist in the gaming industry. I've got a portfolio, and I receive critiques on my art regulary from you awesome polycounters, but what I'd like to know is what did some of you do to land that position? They say it also has to do with who you know, and being at the right place at the right time.

Currently, I have a QA position specializing in pre-integration checks for 3D models at Electronic Arts. After talking to the artists, art directors and technical artists, they all seem to agree that I am, at the very least, a competent 3D artist. But due to the nature of my contract (I'm a 3rd party contractor) and internal issues caused by the recession, I'm finding it almost impossible to be granted a chance. This isn't even taking into account how I can improve as an artist.

So my question is, am I doing everything I can? Or should I be doing more to get my name out there? Lookin for advice :)

Replies

• Joao Sapiro
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Joao Sapiro sublime tool
    just do better art. if you have kickass art things will get done by themselves, not trying to be a dick, but its how i see it working :(
  • crazyfingers
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    crazyfingers polycounter lvl 10
    I've been saying this a lot lately, but I'd reccomend joining a mod team, get your hands on some actual game engine experience and work on a team. It's way more fun than going solo and it's great to have a tangible "thing" that you're making. It's like living the dream but just not getting paid for it. Hey, on the off chance your team rocks enough to put out a good mod, there's your job right there.

Again, i'm going to recommend the UT3 engine, you work for EA, you should know why ;)
  • Pope Adam
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Pope Adam polycounter lvl 11