Home Technical Talk

Ok 3 questions, Normals, AO, and UE3 Emissive

Hi there,

I'm pretty new to game asset creation so I'm tackling things I'm very much unfamiliar with. Hopefully someone is able to offer a bit of advice.

Firstly,

Is there a way to combine normal maps, and if so, what would be the best way to go about it. I'm trying to create a modular corrugated metal wall. I would like to combine the normal map from the high poly bake which gives a nicer bevel on the edges, then also the normal created from the diffuse because it gives detail on the worn/damaged areas from the diffuse. In this case, there isn't a whole lot of detail in the baked normal but it would be useful to know for any more complex model I do in the future.

Second,

I'm trying to bake an AO map in Max, and have run into a problem I've never seen before. The map looks like it's already been applied to a model with a grey diffuse if you see what I mean. It's not a white/black combination, it seems like the areas that should be white are grey. Is this simply down to a lack of light in the scene or am I doing something else wrong?

Lastly,

I want to create a translucent material in UE3 for a plastic warehouse roof, the kind you might see in an old factory. It doesn't need to be transparent in any way as I don't think the material would have any transparency from new, and in this case it will be old and covered in dirt. The way I'm thinking is to create my diffuse which will basically be a soft white dirt/grime, and use the same for the emissive. Obviously feel free to correct me if there's a better way.

Many thanks

Replies

• Xoliul
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Xoliul polycounter lvl 14