Home General Discussion

Internships & non-students

I have a bit of a random question about art internships. I realize that the vast majority of internships seem to go to art students working on their degrees, and reliable intern recruiters tend to flock to the local art/game-art university programs. As someone who is largely self-taught (I took a couple amazing CC courses, but that isn't really a replacement for a full-time student program), is it realistic to attempt to look for an internship? Do companies even consider candidates that are not currently enrolled in school?

I'd love to get my feet wet in an internship environment, particularly because I have minimal (read: zero) hands-on pipeline experience, but I don't want to spam my portfolio if no one is interested in non-students. Additionally, even if companies are open to non-student interns, is there an appropriate way to apply? I haven't found a single company in my area that has specific job posting for interns, so I'm wondering if it's reasonable to just blindly send out inquiries via email.

I'd appreciate it if anyone with knowledge and/or experience could give a bit of insight. Thank you!

Replies

• Pseudo
    Offline / Send Message
    Pseudo polycounter lvl 18
    There is nothing about an internship that makes it specific to students.

Generally you will hear about students taking internships because they can afford to, most people post-college don't have the luxury of taking an unpaid job.

That being said, there are some companies that do student-specific internships, generally in partnership with a specific school or a handful of schools. Most of those you wont find advertised though, they go straight through the schools.

I don't see many internships posted, but there are some that pop up every once in awhile (Treyarch just posted a couple a few months ago).