Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Second attempt at modeling. Take pity

edit - (Second attempt at modeling a complete character)

I'm pretty new to 3d modeling, so i though it would be a good exercise to try and model a high poly character from start to finish. Here's what I have so far.

I would really appreciate feedback. :poly121:

initial concept:

chaos01.jpg

view 01 :

chaos_left.jpg

view 2 :

chaos_right.jpg

thanks in advance!

Replies

• traden
  • whipSwitch
    Offline / Send Message
    whipSwitch polycounter lvl 8
    well, It's a damn solid start. I'd fix the geo in the beard(get rid of those two hug polys on either side, and slice across the whole beard a couple times) and the tabard ( looks like the arm holes where cut from a cylinder and called done. Add some reallt loops around the arms holes).

Another thing to note is be sure to balance your detail a little better. 95% of all the visual interest in the character is from a front view. While this may be good for particular applications, I would start adding some interest to the sides and back, as well as flesh out the legs a bit more. ( model some boots insteaod of putting small armour plates over a large single mass)

great start though, keep it up.
  • Mark Dygert
    Off to a good start.

Things to remember:
    - Smoothing groups will create breaks in your model on export, so will UV seams. So plan them both out carefully.
    http://www.ericchadwick.com/examples/provost/byf2.html
    This is incredibly helpful in explaining why.
    - Need to think about edge flow for animation, as well as optimization.
    - Depending on how the model is rigged up you might want the beard modeled right into the chest or at the very least it needs edges and polys that match closely the edges and polys on the chest. That way when he bends and twists you have points roughly in the same spot that will deform roughly the same and hopefully minimize clipping.
  • traden