Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Weapon Practice!

polycounter lvl 15
Offline / Send Message
cycloverid polycounter lvl 15
After my last attempt at a weapon failed somewhat miserably, I decided to do some more!

1.)

First up, I redesigned my simple demon sword design to get this look:

Maya Viewport // ~3200 tri // 512 tex
DemonSword2.jpg

textures.jpg

2.)

After seeing all the cool guns and such that are constantly up here, a weird old musket sounded like a cool challenge. Since this is my first attempt at a gun, I felt going straight from reference might be a good idea. The reference shown is an old german musket, showing both good hard-surface practice, as well as some good ol' Zbrushing.

rifle1.jpg

The trigger appears to be similar to what would be on a cross-bow, and I haven't exactly figured out what those other contraptions do near the trigger. Any ideas? (Perhaps posting the full res pic would help)

I'm just taking select areas into Zbrush at the moment. But as for the texturing, I'm considering having the left/right side of the gun mirrored. It's always a hard call between optimization versus slight visual improvements. Mirroring the sides would mean I wouldn't get all the nice, perfect occlusion happening on that lock, so I might decide against it.

In any case, my goal is either going to be roughly 1024X2048 for the texture and between 7k-8k for the low-poly.

Thanks for looking.

Replies

• Zack Fowler
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Zack Fowler polycounter lvl 11
    Love the sword. The textures have nicely crisp painted style to them. If that's leather wrapping I'd suggest changing the spec for the wrapping to a low saturation blue, as things that have same color diffuse and spec tend to end up with more of a metallic sheen.

That is a sweet looking rifle design! I love the carvings, no doubt those are going to turn out great.
  • Kimono
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Kimono polycounter lvl 10