Home Technical Talk

3dsmax scripts - progress capture

Hey peeps,

I'm kind of new here so go easy on me ;)

Over the past couple of months as I've been developing my portfolio, both art and code, I started playing around with max script to make some simple scripts and help take the monkey work out of Max. Basically make my way towards becoming more of a technical artist in the industry, rather than an artist with technical ability :)

Recently Adam (I'm sure you guys know him) gave me the idea of making a max script that will take a progress shot of your max scene with a simple press of a button. Good idea! So I took the idea and expanded it a bit more.

Capture tool script

Installation:
  1. Open the rar file
  2. Place the MCR file into "..\3dsmax2008\Scripts"
  3. Run the macro script (Nothing will actually show up) MAXScript -> Run Script...
  4. Assign the macro script as a button... Customize -> Customize User Interface... -> Group = Main UI, Category = Ren Tools
  5. Click and drag "Ren's Progress Capture Tool" onto a toolbar
  6. Click the new button to open up the floater window
  7. Read usage below :)
Progress Capture:
  1. The list box contains the names of all cameras in the scene, you can select the desired angle you want to capture. If there is nothing listed (IE, there are no cameras), the tool will use the perspective view.
  2. You can create a new camera with the “Create Camera” button. If you have a camera selected, the selected camera will be reoriented to the current view.
  3. Checking the “Free Camera” check box will make the camera a free camera instead of a targeted camera.
  4. “Capture on autosave” will attempt to capture a progress shot based on the autosave timer. CAUTION: if your scene takes a LONG time to render, you may either want to turn this off, or lower the render settings.
  5. “Quiet, no virtual buffer” will not display the rendered image in a window, but will still save it out.