Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Japanese Helmet

Hi everyone,

I just signed up for poly count yesterday. I am a student at the Art Institute of Orange County. My major is visual game and programming. I worked on this piece about a year ago. I will be sure to post more of my work later. I modeled everything here in 3ds max and I did the texture and lighting in Maya. Tell me what you think.

Thanks!

DannyBriggs_FinalRender.jpg
IMG%5D

Replies

• whats_true
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    whats_true polycounter lvl 15
    Its to dark on the helmet from the lights to distinguish any type of detail.

What have you worked on recently?
  • turpedo
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    turpedo polycounter lvl 12
    Hi Daniel,

I'm assuming the focus of the scene should be the helmet but yet my eyes are directly pulled to the blown out light on the left side. I would try to tone that down and focus the lighting more on the helm.
  • DanielB
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    turpedo,

Thanks for the critique I agree completely. I think toning down the light will make the helmet stand out a lot more. I tried to go for a high dark/light contrast. I was hoping the rays of light and high specularity of the helmet would give more eye movement. Another thing I noticed was a slight stretch on the front of my wooden stand. The original .jpg is a lot larger and I feel it holds up better at that size. I need to find these old files and do some touch ups. Thanks again for the post.

"What have you worked on recently?"
    whats_true,