Home General Discussion

School Success Rate

polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
HellMark polycounter lvl 18
I'm interested in opening a discussion on how successful schools have been (or not) in getting students jobs in the industry. I'd like to hear from all sides so it's not limited to just students or graduates. Also I would like to keep the focus on art specifically and not animation or programming though technical artists would be good.

Note: I realize things are a bit of a wild card lately with the economy, studio closings, etc...

So far what I've read on most forums, including here, is focus on the portfolio. Just having the degree is not enough or sometimes not needed at all. I agree with this. I was self taught and continue to do so. Polycount has been an incredible source. I think sites like Polycount should be included resources in teaching. Where better to draw knowledge then those in the trenches. Teachers should have students involved in the community.

I've done some research on courses offered by schools and for some like Cogswell the focus is too general. I know a couple of students who have come out and done well like Tumerboy (Hi Nick) but I think a student coming out of school at best will have a good understanding of a bunch of things but not a focus in an area that will land them a job working on a particular field. Most student portfolios reflect this.

If a student is not sure of what route they want to take in the industry I can see the benefit of more generalized studies initially but once a path has been chosen specilization needs to happen. Also having basic foundation knowledge (ie. color theory) should be a staple of any education.

I believe things can be greatly improved on. I'd like to see students given the tools to come out to be more successful and not waste time and money. For now I think a lot of these schools are running with blinders on.

Mark

Replies

• Jeremy Lindstrom
    Options
    Offline / Send Message