Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Yup, a scifi-floor!

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
sampson polycounter lvl 9
Hey guys,
i'm working on a sci fi base thingy just to practice my highpoly + baking + texturing skills.

i'm not really sure for how i'm going to design the rest of it.. im thinking more panels and bolts!
here's what i've got so far - i'm looking to put it on a flat plane and i'm guessing some of the areas wont bake super well:
dqoz11.jpg

Replies

• JesterBox
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JesterBox polycounter lvl 18
    ---Edit Miss-read title----

Woops! totally thought the title said door for some reason. I'd say it looks good (But I'm pretty new to this stuff), I'm wondering if it opens or anything so that the wires and what not underneath can be accessed.
  • turpedo
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    turpedo polycounter lvl 12
    You will probably end up losing a lot of the depth you have in your highpoly model if you bake it on just a flat plane(the side borders).
  • adam
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    adam polycounter lvl 19
    I'd actually think about thicking up your forms and overall shapes. As turpedo alluded to you'll lose a lot of depth when you bake this, even if your mesh isn't a flat plane but something closer representing the shapes of this.

As well, I'd think about making the pot lights a seperate mesh with their own bake and sheet. This way you can place them manually in whatever engine (or 3D app) you're planning on using.
  • sampson
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    hmm not a huge update but i decided i'm going to have it so that theres metal beams running across, with concrete under it. just to make it a lil bit different.
    so imagine the below image, but with cracks running across the middle stuff!
    2qi7eye.jpg
  • Muzzoid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Muzzoid polycounter lvl 10
    man that thing is a trip hazard!