Home General Discussion

Traditional art skills

Although my main focus in terms of art is 3d modeling i'm also interested in broadening my other 'soft' skills such as observation, composition etc or what would be considered the traditional art skills.

I'm entirely self-taught which suits my learning style so I was just wondering if anyone has any advice on developing ones traditional art skills? I've got a few books covering this however I was wondering if theres any video lectures online which may be relevant?

The free lectures from MIT and stanford cover every topic except art it seems and i've not found anything googling so any advice will be appreciated.

Replies

• stimpack
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    stimpack polycounter lvl 10
    Search by artist. Many great artist have training dvd's on such topics, or hold lectures you can attend. Just off hand, for composition I think Marshall vandruff is a fantastic teacher of the subject. http://www.marshallart.com/ Sid mead has a great gnomon video as well.

ps. I wouldnt consider these soft skills =P
  • scourgewarper
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    stimpack wrote: »
    ps. I wouldnt consider these soft skills =P

hehe very true, I guess when your entrenched in 3d you forget what its all built upon, core skills perhaps would have been more apt :) thanks for the link
  • Vrav
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Vrav polycounter lvl 11
    This book is very nice if you don't already have it... and are looking for more books. [ame]http://www.amazon.com/New-Drawing-Right-Side-Brain/dp/0874774241/[/ame]
  • fast1
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    i did not know about that link, thanks for the linkclear.gif
  • Mongrelman
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Mongrelman polycounter lvl 18
    I've been going through www.idrawgirls.com , lots of small videos there, and a few longer ones you can buy. Found them great myself.

Good luck.
  • Frankie
    Options