Home General Discussion

My graduation project

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
kwakkie polycounter lvl 12
Hey guys, I completely forgot to tell you all here that I graduated in February!!! I am now a master in Communication and Multimedia Design *yay*!

My graduation project was to brainstorm for cool game ideas > pick the best 5 ideas and pitch them for the company I was following my internship at(in Holland your final graduation project is often combined with an internship) called Kalydo > make a GDD of the best idea > make a prototype based on the game/gdd that demonstrates the core gameplay. I had to complete the project in about 4 months time! Needless to say I am basically an artist, so the company promised me that one of their coders would help me one day a week, as soon as I had finished the GDD.

pitch.jpg
(Image: One of the first sketches for the pitch to explain my game idea, kind of hard to understand without an explanation I guess :P)

So, after I spent about 2 weeks getting to know my colleagues, the company, their current lineup and brainstorming my ass off I pitched the best 5 ideas in a presentation. During this presentation one of the game ideas was so appealing to the CEO's of the company, that they were literaly jumping up and down from their seats from excitement(they were like a bunch of wild apes on a chiquita plantation, a sight I still have nightmares of in my sleep). So instead of the one hour a week, they decided that the coder should help me 3 days a week!!!!

prototyp.jpg
(Image: The first prototype version)

Thats when the ball(perhaps I should say cube) really started rolling down the hill! The coder was so enthousiastic that he coded the entire prototype in the same weekend after I presented my idea with coder art! SO after some talks with my councelor from school, I decided to finish the GDD during the next two weeks, and try to make the prototype into a fullfledged game in the remaining 3 months I had left.

trees.png