Home Technical Talk

Modeling Fine Detail

Renzatic
polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
Renzatic polycounter lvl 10
I've been playing with Modo for about 6 months now. I've learned my hotkeys, I can model basic shapes like no ones business, and can subpatch like a straight up mofo. For a quick example of where I'm currently at, I submit two models I've done over the last week, this and this.

I'm getting decent, but I'm hardly the seasoned jaded pro I want to be. Right now, I'm thinking it'd be a good time to move up to the next step and learn how to do details inside of details. Something like this doorknob would be a good example of what I'm wanting to go for here. I can get the basic shape and a few bumps and bits down, but I'm struggling with the smaller touches.

My problem is I don't know exactly where to begin. I've tried doing numerous cuts, but all those extra edges end up messing with my curvature when I subpatch. Subdividing gives me the geometry I want, but going in and editing the resulting geometry vertex by vertex takes forever. I'm sure there's a better way to approach this, but I'm obviously missing out on how to do it. I've spent a good hour googling up tutorials, and have yet to find one that addresses what I'm trying to do.

Does anyone have any suggestions or techniques, or preferably, a nice set of tutorials they could link me to? Any help will be greatly appreciated here.

Replies

• StefanH
    Offline / Send Message
    StefanH polycounter lvl 12
    i would use a sculpting package like zbrush or mudbox for stuff like that. will be a 100 times faster.
  • tanka
    Offline / Send Message
    tanka polycounter lvl 12
    You seem to have a nice eye for detail. You should get ahold of Zbrush or Mudbox, I think you'll be able to create some very nice stuff in there.
  • Firebert
    Offline / Send Message
    Firebert polycounter lvl 15
    just to be that final "I recommend this book" .... 9 out of 10 dentists recommend......