Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Portfolio] Josh Rife - Environments and Props

Hi everyone,

This is my first post up at polycount. Very quickly, I'm a 3rd year student working on my undergrad in Games and Environment art. I put together this website over the holidays to show some of what I've been working on.

www.joshrife3d.com

You'll notice that this stuff is diffuse/vert lighting only.

Any crits would be much appreciated! Thank you!

- Amad

Replies

• dolemite
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    it seems strange to have 3 512X textures for that cannon piece. But I'm probably full of it.

I love the little carmine piece. Carmine FTW!!!
  • achmedthesnake
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    achmedthesnake polycounter lvl 17
    i'm lovin it so - interesting idea on using a piece of art to inspire the whole lvl art
    minor crits - you go to town making it more atmospheric and realistic by emphasizing the statue/fountain piece by doing a little more splashes further down the steps and floor - darken the rest p and make that roof hole the primary light source, cause at the moment you've got torches, floor lights and a roof strip - meh just my two cents..

oh and a webpage nitpick - everything doesn't center in the page - it hangs left, youve got some frames and table stuff going - wynot put it all-in a container div which hangs in the centre?
  • EbolaV
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    EbolaV keyframe
    Yeah man that Carmine rockz :D
  • Jeremy Lindstrom
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Jeremy Lindstrom polycounter lvl 18
    images too little too see any type of detail. You have 4 seperate images stuffed inside a non resizable 875px
  • Amadreaus
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for the input! I'll definitely try to revamp the presentation sheets to show some wires/textures a little clearer, as well as the site itself. More to come soon!
  • Amadreaus
    Options
    Offline / Send Message