Home Technical Talk

No inspiration.

I've lost my inspiration, and don't know what to do. Don't get me wrong, I love modeling. I always think about it (in a healthy dose), but every time i open up MAX and ZBrush, I sit there... not knowing what to do. I'm an ok modeler by most standards, but I just don't know what to do, or where to start. I've loved creating Environments/environment props (houses, signs, fences etc) than anything else, in a Medieval/FableI(I) setting. (picture farms with thatched roofs, windmills etc.) I also love creating castles, and detailing them to nothing. But I also love Sci-Fi. I love creating spaceships, etc, because I love detailing.

Problem is, I have no inspiration to create anything. I just don't have any goals to strive for. Nothing comes to mind when I open up the modeling programs. I don't know what to create, or how to start, and I've hit a stump where I haven't modeled in a week or so. I fear if I keep this up, I'll lose my love for modeling, which i don't want to happen.

Any tips, or ideas to get back on track?! Thanks! I know this is a personal problem, but anything you think will help is much appreciated.

(PS. if you have any high-poly meshes you are willing to share for inspiration, or just as a generic influence, please do so!)

Replies

• Xenocidex11
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Do you have anything else you are good at? If you do look into that for the inspiration you need. I like drawing and alot of that inspires me in my modelling.
  • Jason Young
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Jason Young polycounter lvl 14
    You should have a concept to work from before opening your modeling program. That way you don't have to think!

Or, maybe take a little time off? Not modeling for a week isn't a huge deal. Go have some fun and find your inspiration.
  • monkeyboy_garth
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    monkeyboy_garth polycounter lvl 9