Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Hello Polycount! and a model for viewing

Hello everyone,

I am very new here, just registered moments ago after being referred to here by a friend. In brief, I'm an artist, a fresh grad with a BA in digital animation, hoping to make it into the CG business some day. Just wanted to get to know people in the field, get some critiques, and check out some of the cool art people are making. For starters, I'm currently working on a character, a heroic female for a next gen type video game. I plan to keep the count a decent level (10,000 right now, trying to knock it down more) and the mesh generic for now to use in future projects. I do plan to use the mesh in Zbrush so some of the tris and face density changes were causing me some concern...

Anyway, here are some screen caps:

rhCap01.jpg
rhCap02.jpgrhCap03.jpg
rhCap04.jpg

I thank you guys in advance for critiques!

Replies

• BradMyers82
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    BradMyers82 interpolator
    Hey nice to see another new grad here. Anyways, I don't think 10,000 tri's is "reasonable" for a character as you have her right now. Unless you are intending it for the next, top of the line gaming company, or possibly a cinematic character model all together. As it stands, you still don't have clothes on her and at this rate she will be like 20,000 tri's when you are done, which is absurd for an in game character.

I see simply too many areas to mention where you can take the count down, but try to just start going through and removing loops everywhere. Really small loops like around the nipple are way overkill and I am not even sure if they help.