Home Technical Talk

Game editors, which one to choose

rares
polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
rares polycounter lvl 9
Hey guys, i'm in my final year of college now and i have to make a project for my diploma. My ideea was to make something like a plane hangar or a car showroom where you could ineteract with the cars or planes like so : rotating around them, opening the doors / cockpit, starting the engine, changeing skins for interiour/exteriour using a menu, looking under the hood and stuff like that.
My question is what game engine would best be suited for such a task ? considering that i have about 28 weeks to make the " game " and it's assets.
I'm running windows and the assets will be made in Maya.

Replies

• Richard Kain
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Richard Kain polycounter lvl 18
    Hmmmm...you have quite a few options. It's kind of hard to say which would be the best. Given what you are describing, I would strongly reccommend using a game engine that features in-game menus. Allow me to elaborate.

The kind of demonstration that it sounds like you are attempting to make is very museum-esque. You want to construct a display space within a 3D environment. But most moddable game engines are 1st person, and don't necessarily lend themselves to such interactivity. The problem is the interaction with the displays. When you just have 3D models, and no immediate prompts for interacting with them, it can be a little confusing for the user. And a display like this has to be as intuitive as possible.

The solution is in-game menus. Anyone who has ever been to a museum recognizes the plaques and other interactive or informational elements usually placed in front of a display. And if they want to know more about a display, that is the first place they go. By placing an in-game menu on these plaques, you can provide immediate and intuitive controls that will allow the user to manipulate the models in a way that they understand.