Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Lapu Lapu of the Philippines

Hi, my name is Ted Morente. I'm new to PolyCount.com and I'm hear because I am inspired by a lot of artists that post on this website. So please, critique my work and give me some suggestions because I'd like to be a better artist.

lapubase01pr5.jpg
This is Lapu Lapu. I worked on this character and his assets on and off between personal and professional projects. He's actually based off of a Filipino warrior legend. My original plan was to create the character model (Lapu Lapu) holding the head of Magellan. But that plan got reworked because I didn't want to anger anyone that would take offense to that image.

The next two images are his wireframe and mesh with Normals and Specs. Can you help me out to make him better?

lapubase03fu9.jpg

lapubase02bz0.jpg
Ps. Thanks for the extra push Cat.:)

Replies

• trigger8687
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Awesome work!!! Love it!
  • carlo_c
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    You have a lot of polys that don't add to the overall form of the model. I understand that the engines now can handle more but theres no need to go overboard.

Looking at your wireframe, things that stand out to me are for example the thighs where you could collapse some of those edges together and still retain the same shape. The same goes for the shield, theres a lot of wasted polygons across the flat surface on the back and also the trimming of the shield.

A full wireframe shot would be probably be more helpful to see where your polys are distributed and more advice could be given.
  • Masaruismymonkey
    lapubase04zm5.jpg

lapubase05eo5.jpg

Thanks Carlos_C! I did go overboard on my poly usage. I should have been paying more attention to it. I'll get rid of unneeded polys as soon as I could. Also, Here are the full wireframes you requested.

@ Trigger8687-Hiya Trigger!
  • garriola83
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    garriola83 greentooth