Home General Discussion

Transition and industry questions...

polycounter lvl 15
Offline / Send Message
digitaldavinci polycounter lvl 15
Hello to all,

This is my first post here at polycount, and a long one (sorry). I appreciate how close of a community you are, and the level of professionalism in regards to the posts. I no longer post on many other forums due to the lack of a true critique.

After reading a boast...I mean...a post of an artist self-stating he "had the chops" to be in the industry, then only to be deservedly cut down to size by an obvious professional; I realized polycount would be a great community to join.

That said...I'll get to the points at hand. Here is just a little background for qualification purposes.

I am currently a project manager at a well-known Arch Viz company in the Southeast United States, and have been for 4 years. My contract is fulfilled in April of '09, and I now tire of the "clean, straight, and over-revised" world of Arch Viz. I feel my website proves that I have talent to work in the 3D community. (www.joshuaratliff.com - 90% time sensitive/contracted work) These questions are not to boost an unfounded ego. I merely would like to get your points of view for a person that IS moving to the Northwest U.S. in April '09, and IS going to strive for employment in the gamming industry. I have only begun to learn the community’s vocation, and I would never be so rude to imply I'm ready to get a job. I will be searching for employment in cinematics, or environment creation. I have recently finished the eat 3d old pillar DVD. Today I'm starting on the Next Gen Texturing DVD. I realize I LOVE the gamming world so far, and I find it extremely rewarding. I'm going to continue for the next 9 months to hone my skills, and push the envelope in regards to my digital talents for gamming. Your input will help me grow in the right directions, and will be greatly appreciated.