Home Technical Talk

Perspective Drawing's a bitch

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
Zephir62 polycounter lvl 12
shipcopy.jpg

I've run into this problem multiple times in my art and I have no idea how to get around it other than building a 3D equivalent and using it as reference. I don't see how the vanishing-point method is applicable in this situation. . Any insight on how to do perspective drawing on a curved surface as accurate as possible?

Replies

• Kawe
    Offline / Send Message
    Kawe polycounter lvl 8
    I'm not sure myself but I THINK you gotta figure out a way to project orthogonal versions onto your perspective drawing I believe. Sadly I'm not good with projections so..
  • Deathead
    To make something 3d use either Rendering on the area where the light is cast. Or make the edges darker to give that effect.
  • Mezz
    Offline / Send Message
    Mezz polycounter lvl 8
    Hmm, when I get a tricky perspective point, I like to look at something as reference... In this case, I'd suggest you google something of a similar shape, even just a basic ring, and see if you can't find an image that has the right, or very similar, perspective you need. Then, see if you can figure out exactly the way the lines are curving and try to apply it to your drawing.

Another idea I was taught is to draw lines over the body that follow the organic curve... the perspective of the piece that is added on top should follow that. Meaning, draw many even lines in the direction the body/muslces/frame are moving, and the perspective they are in. When you have those lines down, try building the piece back on top of that.

Sorry, I hope that wasn't more confusing than it needed to be... good luck with it!
  • Michael Knubben
    I had a class at uni that went into the specifics of how to do complex shapes in 3d the 'right' way (so no eye-balling it). Unfortunately for you I hated it and remembered nothing.