Home Technical Talk

sama Mel-Script

polycounter lvl 14
Offline / Send Message
sama.van polycounter lvl 14
Maybe time for me to start my Mel-Script thread...

I'm not a programmer, a simple 3d artist...

...But I always like to develop tools to maximise the efficiency of the members of my team.

I think it's the most important point on a project.
(because of money and human is not an animal and don't have to repeat everytime the same task...)

I think it's really important for a team to work with tools build specificly for a project.

Actually lot of my tools are copyrighted by the companies I worked in the past...

... and today I'd like to develop my personnal set of tools, and share it with you.

Anyway, I like to have little tools with a pre-configurations in my Mel-Script and it help me to obtain a little UI, low loading to open the UI, and don't have to check evrytime all the parameters.

Today in Game Industry we have to use lot of tools because of the next gen process (Hi Poly models, generate lot of map, etc...),
It's often the garbage in the directories and lot of people have some difficults to work together because of that.

Second reason is I often work at home, and on my laptop too.
But Maya windows for each tools are very big and you cannot really work with pleasure...
and this stupid program break a window you're using for show the parameter of another tools in the same window... ( -__- definitly...)

Finally my tools are for Artists they are interested to work more faster, don't need to use lot of parameters and don't need to have big icons and long explanations about each parameters.

I don't want to change a world with my tools, only want help a little more.
(maybe another person already said that before haha ...)

Tools already exist in Maya but it's different use...

Your welcome to give your opinion on my tools and spirit of my tools.
I'd like to have feed back and create better tools!
..... And correct my english too :)

Thank you!