Home General Discussion

Job Hunting

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
pangarang polycounter lvl 11
I graduated from the Art Institute of Vancouver just over a month ago and I've job searching ever since. I've applied to 20 odd companies for a total of 30 positions without an interview to show for it. I managed to get an interview at a company doing 3D modeling but not for games and they haven't gotten back to me either.

I always hear "just get your foot in the door" but it seems that's the big hurdle. I gotta admit, after weeks of applying for every advertised position that suits me, and not hearing back (even after following up 2-3 weeks later with a phone call), its getting quite difficult to keep my head up and continue moving at this pace.

Is my work just sub-par?
Am I applying for the right level jobs?
Are companies just busy with other things?
Why did so-and-so get a job when I didn't?
Is it too early to expect anything?

Those are the kinds of questions I haven't stopped asking myself and I was wondering if any of you guys could provide any insight based on your experiences. I don't mean to sound like a crazy angry nut case, lol. But I'm just wondering what other people have experienced. If what I'm going through is normal.

Replies

• aesir
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    aesir polycounter lvl 18
    Your work is mediocre. It looks very last-gen.

Appy to all jobs that you can at every company you can.

Its not surprising you havent found a job yet. You've only been looking for one month, and only applied to 20 places.
  • bounchfx
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    bounchfx mod
    hey man, chin up, you're only a month out of college!