Home General Discussion

Game Jobs: How long to wait before looking again?

im new to the industry, having landed my first full time gig in january of this year and wanted to know how long should i to wait to 'tastefully' try for a better placement elsewhere. i found i am quick to want more as a game artist, but i dont want to get ahead of myself and throw out a volley of resumes if it will only make me look bad in the eyes of potential employers for being too hasty. i know on one hand a few months or so if industry exp doesnt qualify me for much more than entry level, but i feel getting through the proverbial doors was the hardest part and i am working on a AAA game now. So before i go ahead and do anything rash i wanted others' opinions from inside the game industry first. thanks!

Replies

• Joshua Stubbles
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Joshua Stubbles polycounter lvl 19
    Honestly, the best thing to do is to see each project to completion. So if you start 1/2 way through dev on a project and you have like a year left, it'd be kosher to leave. Staying only a few months at each place would be super bad juju. I'd say at LEAST a year per place. That goes by a lot faster than you expect, and it gives you enough time to befriend the people you're working with and learn some new things.
  • Pseudo
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Pseudo polycounter lvl 18
    There is really no secret formula to game industry jobs, they work just like every other job in the world. If you are happy with your job, stay there. If you aren't happy with your job, look elsewhere.
  • Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I think a good rule of thumb would be "1 product cycle" or "1 shipped title". Of course some places languish on a single title for years and people come and go. But I think you need to look at the reason(s) why you want to leave and do other places actually offer what you're looking for or are you chasing the fame train?