Home General Discussion

Speculating about Zbrush

admin
Offline / Send Message
System admin
Oh gawd I want this application so much, haven't made too many normal maps before and only in max, mostly rely on substituting with good diffuse and bump maps from Photoshop. Would you guys say that if you can paint in Photoshop you would find Zbrush as easy?

Replies

• Ged
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ged interpolator
    GCMP wrote: »
    Would you guys say that if you can paint in Photoshop you would find Zbrush as easy?

Im no zbrush pro but I would say - no theres definitely a learning curve. It will eventually be just as easy but it will probably take a while to get used to the way 3D sculpting works and learning how to get the results you desire, not to mention the interface and the importing and exporting and retopologising process. I guess its a bit like photoshop cause no matter how much experience people have in ps painting theres always new ways of doing things and custom brushes and workflows to try out.
  • EarthQuake
    Options
    Online / Send Message
    If you're looking for ease of use, and similarity to photoshop you really need to try mudbox out. Zbrush's ui is designed by a bunch of crack heads, on the moon. While zbrush has some more powerful features, the simple ease of use in mudbox make it a much more realistic application to actually use to accomplish tasks, well for me at least. Whereas i need to relearn how to use zbrush even time i open it, mudbox is simple and intuiative, very much like photoshop.
  • Keg
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Keg polycounter lvl 18
    EarthQuake wrote: »
    Zbrush's ui is designed by a bunch of crack heads, on the moon.

Quoted for being so god damn true. The interface for zbrush is horrific at best. the way you save your work is convoluted and not what you would expect.
  • Jeremy Lindstrom
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Jeremy Lindstrom polycounter lvl 18