Home Technical Talk

UVW Unwrapping in 3DS Max (Total Newb)

I'm making models for a video game as my final project in a class, and we're using the Quake 3 engine. I'm trying to accurately UVW Unwrap the model for making textures, but I can't really find any completely user-friendly tutorials... they all end up integrating elements that I don't need, or aren't explained.

Additionally, as you can see in my image below, Max isn't recognizing about half the triangles as being part of a whole. I'm tried removing duplicate faces, welding vertices, everything I can think of.

qy652f.png

Triangles: 964

Thanks in advance!

Replies

• Jesse Moody
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Jesse Moody polycounter lvl 17
    looks like you gotta start stitching that thing together.

It's like a big sewing project. Find seam a that matches seam b and stitch... Repeat until you have a nice big unwrapped character
  • cholden
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    cholden polycounter lvl 18
    Edit MESH?! Switch to Edit Poly. Your model there isn't very good. I'd be more worried about it looking good and how it's not going to deform properly when animated before UVs, but since that's not the question...

Try this, may not be the best way, but it will yield fast results:
    select all your faces in UV editor, mapping > flatten mapping (you can play with settings but default is fine), then right click and stitch everything together where you don't want seams. Align everything nicely like you're playing tetris and be done with it.
  • Quantum Dot
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Yeah, I know it's not the best model in the world; it's only the second one I've ever made, and as for the proportions and such, I was working directly off concept art that is how my partner wants it to look.