Home General Discussion

MS Vista SP1 is out

polycounter lvl 19
Offline / Send Message
adam polycounter lvl 19
Here's the release notes.

Now, what I am wondering and hoping, is that the problems I was having with Vista that made me roll back to XP SP2 are fixed.

Basically, I was getting shitty perforce in Photoshop CS2 and Max.

Now, Max I have updated to 2008 but I still use (and prefer) CS2.

So for anyone who tries out the new Service Pack please let us know how she fairs.

Thanks!

Replies

• doc rob
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    doc rob polycounter lvl 19
    I got my new laptop 2 days ago and installed SP1 last night. I have no previous experiences with Vista, so I can't offer a comparison. I'll let you know how Max and Photoshop fare once I get them installed.
  • Xenobond
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Xenobond polycounter lvl 18
    Just updated to SP1 remotely. I didn't have any issues with Vista before running Max or PS, but did have other problems. My network connection would kind of turn off at times. Not sure if it's the pc, the network card(integrated :S) or router, and it wasn't so annoying that I bothered to hook the pc straight to the cable modem.

That, and Metal Gear Solid & Final Fantasy VII won't run. frown.gif

cries.
  • Justin Meisse
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Justin Meisse polycounter lvl 18
    ditto for me
    I'm running max 8, I don't do any high poly stuff so I haven't noticed any problems. I just turbosmoothed a teapot until max started to slow down, happened around 4 million polygons, that seems good to me.

the first time I ran max I believe it said it had to turn of Aero, it's a quick flash when I start max and I don't really notice a big difference in the windows interface.
  • Emil Mujanovic
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Emil Mujanovic polycounter lvl 18
    I've been wanting to make the switch to Vista for a while now, so this may be the excuse to do so.

-caseyjones