Home General Discussion

Striving for perfection

As my post count indicates, I do not participate too terribly much on these forums. It's not for lack of wanting to, and it's not because I feel superior in any way. It's because when I am home, I tend to be spending a lot of my time trying to become better at my artwork. I've reached a point however, where I feel I need to step back, take a deep breath, and start evaluating some things.

I have been drawing forever. It's something that has always come naturally to me. I've taken classes, I've gone to school, I've taken a year of fine arts, and I have a degree in 3D modeling and animation now. I have always prided myself on speed and efficiency of my work. Getting by in High school, my doodles were generally more detailed and refined than most things my classmates had spent hours on. This is not to brag however, I'm simply trying to give an idea of where I'm coming from.

Honestly, I don't think of myself as some great artist. I know there is plenty of room for improvement. I keep practicing and studying for hours on end, and I do so with a drive to better myself. The problem is, I think I have some illusions and it's starting to really drag my work down. Going back to the efficiency thing, somewhere along the line I decided most of the concept art for games and shows coming out are done in about 20 minutes at a desk with a #2 Pencil. That in mind, I've been trying to reach that kind of skill level.

I'm rather certain this is the wrong mindset. Further more, I think this kind of expectation of myself is doing some harm to the quality of what I've been attempting to do. I'll work on getting a rough sketch of a character or something worked out. After a little time however, I get fed up with it not being complete enough and I start to get frustrated with myself not getting it correct the first few times.