Home General Discussion

Pros and Cons of GDC

Saidin311
polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
Saidin311 polycounter lvl 11
Are there any Cons? hah.

I'm aspiring and passionate, learning and excited about this industry. But I'm also slightly realistic and at the moment and understand I still have a lot of learning to go. I'm mostly looking for some sort of start or a way to break in and give me the opportunity to work and learn in production to take me somewhere in the future.

But I'm also a starving recent graduate and the potential cost of something like GDC is weighing heavily on my head. The time budget is also a factor and I would wonder what would be a good starting minimum for a website/portfolio/self marketing tools.

It seems there are a ton of Pro's to a conference like GDC, but it seems that it could be a big gamble/expense for someone who isn't 100% prepared. And I'll fully admit that I'm already trying to progress fast and efficiently in skill and style and I have no idea whether I'll be set in a month from now or not.

Anyone have any thoughts on this potential dilema?

Replies

• aesir
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    aesir polycounter lvl 18
    the con would be that it costs a lot of money.
  • bounchfx
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    bounchfx mod
    I'm having the same one and would like others to elaborate on this.

have enough money for one or the other.. need job.. need computer. computer vs gdc..
  • danr
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    danr interpolator
    How much *does it cost?
  • Xenobond
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Xenobond polycounter lvl 18
    Con- it's still in San Fran.
    Pro- possibility it'll be in San Jose next year.
  • doc rob
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    doc rob polycounter lvl 19
    Con is definitely cost:
    http://www.gdconf.com/register/passoptions.htm
    add in lodging, food/drink, travel.