Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Characters for Animated Short

Eric Wiley
polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
Eric Wiley polycounter lvl 11
Hey everyone, this is my first post... I am a student at Digipen Institute of Technology. I am currently working on a 30 second short in 3ds max. It involves a time machine being jacked by a baby dinosaur and its inventor gets left in the past while the dinosaur goes to the future. The Inventor is from 1910, at the turn of the century. These are for animation but I modelled them with game models in mind. Both of these models are around 6,000 poly's so far. Almost entirely quads with a few select tri's here and there. I don't plan to add any meshsmooth or anything either. Please tell me how I can better my conceptual designs and wireframe for animation. I want them to have pretty complex facial rigs, especially the dinosaurs eyelids. The Dinosaur is the main Character and the Inventor is the secondary. Thanks.... -Eric Wiley

DINOMODELSHEET.jpg

Inventor01.jpg

wireframes.jpg

together.jpg

Any crits or suggestions would be much appreciated. Thanks...

Replies

• Flynny
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Flynny polycounter lvl 9
    Cant say much for criticism but on the whole they definately look like fun characters to animate wink.gif
  • Joao Sapiro
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Joao Sapiro sublime tool
    really awesome, i like the proportion and the stylization of anatomy . Now this is true stylization ! shows anatomy knowledge and makes it look cartoony without making it look bad , props for that man !

only critic might be around the mouth of the man, the edgeloops dont seem very animation friendly , i would be carefull with that.

really nice man.
  • BoBo_the_seal
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    BoBo_the_seal polycounter lvl 18
    very fun characters
  • Joseph Silverman
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Joseph Silverman polycounter lvl 17