Home General Discussion

ok REALLY off but a hip hop question

polycounter lvl 17
Offline / Send Message
seforin polycounter lvl 17
ok this question might sound really odd but just kinda curious

how many people grew up in a more street scene area? (new yorkish , miami floridaish kinda atmosphere)

that grew up doing break dancing and graffitti and that kinda stuff (And no im not talking about people who "Listen" To rap, im talking about people who did all the other stuff like graff' and breakin' and such)

Just kinda curious, wondering if im one of the only odd balls that was doing that kinda stuff before I came into doing the 3d work laugh.gif

Replies

• aesir
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    aesir polycounter lvl 18
    I was a b-boy/graf artist when I was a kid (elementary school to beginning of high school).

I was from the burbs of sacramento...

(still kinda a graf artist as stress relief.)
  • JDinges
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JDinges polycounter lvl 18
    Uh, graffiti and break dancing = hip hop?

I always associated them with white skater kids...

shrug.
  • Slum
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Slum polycounter lvl 18
    yeah, graffiti and breaking came out of the hip hop culture.

graffiti is far-removed from hiphop anymore. a lot of people still call it part of hip hop, but it has really branched outside of that whole culture.
  • Michael Knubben
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    jd: four elements of hiphop:
    -mc-ing
    -dj-ing
    -breaking
    -graffiti

At least, that's what I remember of it. It's correct though, isn't it?
  • Wells
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Wells polycounter lvl 18
    where do bitches and hoes fit in?
  • Ryno
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ryno polycounter lvl 18
    That's gangsta, not hip hop. There's a bit of overlap, but hip hop back in the day was not about a bunch of thugs running around strapped, talking about their bitches and hoes.