Home Technical Talk

Unearthing 3D Environment Issues w/ Dr Dipsh*t

As a self-taught & aspiring 3D environment artist there is much I still don’t know, and lots of wisdom to be learned underneath them CG stones. With that said, I (and others like me I’m sure:) would like to get some opinions from those of you who have had some kind of formal training. In particular for me, which of all of the various environment tools out there have you found most handy and user-friendly? I’ve tossed around Bryce & Vue, though they seem somewhat limited when it comes to game environments. Am I looking in the wrong places? And further, to build game environments do you need programming skills? Editors look intimidating, not to mention expensive. Any insight you might have would be super freakin helpful. Thanx!

Replies

• Joshua Stubbles
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Joshua Stubbles polycounter lvl 19
    Staples might have one, but there is no easy button for art.

Being self taught myself, I can only suggest the things I did. If you're looking to use editors (smart idea) go with the cheap/free ones that you can use.
    - Torque
    - Hammer
    - Unreal Ed
    - Radiant
    All of these will provide a great building block for understand different engines, and get you familiarized with the techniques involved in building general game environments.

It never hurts to know some coding or scripting. In most cases, artists these days are loosely considered technical artists. They create their own scripts, shaders and whatever else they may need.
  • Rick Stirling
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Rick Stirling polycounter lvl 18
    Organic outdoors environments for games? Hills and caves and trees? Try Maya PLE or GMAX for free.

Grab XSI if you have a few quid.

You'll want Gimp for textures, or photoshop if you have some pocket money.
  • arrangemonk
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    arrangemonk polycounter lvl 15