Home Technical Talk

Skinning

Hello, This is my first time posting here, im 14 years old and i currently skin for a game with Unreal engine 1, and a game that has horrrrrible models, i dont model however i love to skin and i love these forums because you all make such amazing things! Currently though im stuck dead when i try to make certain things, armor/straps(belts,etc..)/clothing/etc...
This honestly is one of my last places to find help, im one of the only skinners left in the community and i want to step up my game.

This is my best skin so far:
Samurai.jpg

a crappy scorpion skin :

Scorpian.jpg

and my best attempt at armor :

sythestknight.jpg

Replies

• Joshua Stubbles
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Joshua Stubbles polycounter lvl 19
    Everyone has to start somewhere, you know smile.gif
    Most of the people on here have some very humble beginnings. For a 14yr old though, that's pretty damn decent work, especially for Unreal 1.
    Just keep it up, it certainly gets easier with time.
  • Sythest
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    yeah i know what you mean... its just not easy to spend countless hours trying to make all the things id love to make in photoshop and never being succesful...

thank you though for the comment
  • Slum
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Slum polycounter lvl 18
    If you're still really into plain old 2d texture skinning, you should check out the SDK thread. Lots of good models by our fellow polycounters.

Also, for more help you could check out the archive of some tutorials on the old polycount site: http://web.archive.org/web/2004061004435...-tut-list.shtml

A good face painting tutorial from the awesome Ancient Pig (he's on this site as well) http://www.pig-brain.com/tut01/tut01_01.htm

I'm sure other folks around here can point you toward some of their own tutorials from back in the day.
  • Sythest
    Options
    Offline / Send Message