Home General Discussion

Laptop time (again)

polycounter lvl 19
Offline / Send Message
Gmanx polycounter lvl 19
Again for you guys - first time for me. I'm looking at getting a new PC and going for a laptop rather than upgrading my desktop machine.

I checked out the threads here, and found some valuable advice, and I'd love to hear what good/bad experiences anyone has had with new laptops.

As far as price and spec goes, I'm looking at something like a Dell inspiron XPS M1710 with XP pro, 17in monitor, 2 gig ram, fastest processor, 7,200 speed hard drive, 512MB GeForce 7950 GTX graphics card - which is coming in at about £1,700.

Damn, the dell machines are FUGLY though. I know Daz has a Toshiba satellite, and some of the Asus machines are good looking. Any further advice? It's my first time and since these machines are more or less 'frozen in time' as far as upgrades go, I want to make the best choice possible.

Ideally I'm after a gaming and 3d modelling machine...

Replies

• sonic
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sonic polycounter lvl 18
    I honestly wouldn't recommend Toshiba. I had a Toshiba back in the day - brand new 1.1ghz PIII with all the fancy jazz, cost about $2k. It turned out that the laptop would overheat after about 15-30 min of heavy usage. Everyone who had that model complained to Toshiba and they never did anything. Finally they released a "fix" for it. Their fix was to cripple the processor so that it was the equivilant of a 500mhz PII. They refused to give refunds or do anything beyond that. A bunch of people got together and filed a class action lawsuit, and Toshiba finally had to pay everyone like $500 or $800. I ended up selling the piece of shit on eBay before the lawsuit was settled. My mom also had a P4 Toshiba satellite and the LCD has gone out 3 times and the RAM has gone bad once.

Asus and Dell I would recommend.