Home General Discussion

My laptop is a crackhead

sublime tool
Offline / Send Message
Joao Sapiro sublime tool
...overdosed itself to death RIP. ( overheated the hard drive and melted everything )

so hm....im going to buy a new one , but the thing is : i want a powerfull one to be able to work with normal maps etc , what you guys advise ?

Also , if i buy a laptop from the states , how much would i pay shipping, etc ?

P.S - im a noob at laptops.

Replies

• Joshua Stubbles
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Joshua Stubbles polycounter lvl 19
    You can't buy a new laptop these days without Vista on it (it's sure as hell hard to, anyways). So if you get Vista, make sure you meet some standards:
    - DO NOT get Vista home basic (get premium, work or ultimate)
    - 2GB ram is preferable for smooth Vista performance

I've seen some HP laptops around the $1000 U.S range, that are pretty good. You can also get good ones from Dell/Alienware, but there are mixed reviews for both. It's a hard choice though. I'd suggest reading a lot of reviews for any laptop you're leaning towards.
  • flaagan
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    flaagan polycounter lvl 18
    HP laptops rock... and Toshiba / fujistu aren't half bad either. Dell's quality has hit rock bottom in my opinion, and stay the hell away from Sony. As far as 'specialty' brands like Alienware... buy at your own risk (I'd sooner buy a sony laptop). I've had too many friends get Alienware and then had their systems implode... and then get basic support get denied to them by Alienware.
  • MoP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MoP polycounter lvl 18