Home General Discussion

contracting and taxes

polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
demoncage polycounter lvl 18
So I'm new to the contracting game and was wondering if anyone might have a good reference for an accounting firm.

Any feedback would be great. My adrenaline is pumping.

Thanks.

Replies

• Emil Mujanovic
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Emil Mujanovic polycounter lvl 18
    Not exciting at all!

-caseyjones
  • demoncage
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    You're just not hip, you need to get back in the game son.
  • TomDunne
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    TomDunne polycounter lvl 18
    You don't need an accounting firm. I worked as a contractor for more than three years and never had a problem with handling income tax.
  • demoncage
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Right, it's really not a question of need. I've been doing my taxes for years. But I'm also not an expert, and I'm thinking in this situation, where you are able to deduct expenses, it might be to my benifit to hand it off to someone with professional knowledge on the subject vs. the cost of my own time investment.

Anyway, just trying to weigh options here. Has anyone benefited greatly from using an accountant?
  • Jesse Moody
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Jesse Moody polycounter lvl 17
    i'm in the same boat right now. Just spend 50-60 bucks and get microsoft money or quicken. They handle all that stuff.
  • Paul Jaquays
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Paul Jaquays polycounter lvl 18
    I recommend Turbotax. You'll want the edition that includes schedule C filing. You should also get the IRS publications on Schedule C (most IRS pubs are available for download online) and as you discover possible deductions, get the publications that deal with those.
  • demoncage
    Options
    Offline / Send Message