Home General Discussion

Elysium's Oslo Adventure

polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
ElysiumGX polycounter lvl 18
I'm going to Oslo, Norway in less than 2 weeks.

It's an opportunity the company is giving only a select few from my department, QA, and I was picked. My co-workers and I will be staying in a nice 5 bedroom apartment for 3 months, all expenses paid.

We're being sent to work more closely with Funcom's development team. There's opportunity for advancement while we're there, which I may take.

I'm in a scramble to buy a laptop and better camera so I can stay in touch with my friends and family here at home. I'm not sure if I'll have time to participate in the Dominance War this year, but I'm going to try.

This is my first time flying, and leaving the country. So any advice is appreciated. blush.gif

Any polycounter's in the Oslo area?

Replies

• Toomas
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Toomas polycounter lvl 18
    Lots of trolls...
  • MoP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MoP polycounter lvl 18
    Coming from the USA, be prepared to pay a lot for food in Norway smile.gif

I have a couple of Norwegian cousins who live/work around Oslo, I've been over there a few times myself, pretty nice place (although I preferred being out of the city and in the amazing mountains and fjords).
  • Penzer
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Penzer polycounter lvl 17
    One of my best friends is from Oslo, I'll check with him what the best things to check out are smile.gif

If it were me, I'd say forget the laptop, when you get there go run away on a sail boat for 3 months with beautiful Scandinavians and wine.
  • ElysiumGX
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    trolls?

I've heard about the price of food. I'm trying to work something out with my roommates so we save money buying groceries, spend the rest on beer laugh.gif . I don't want to live on $10 a meal McDonald's food. Good thing I can cook.