Home General Discussion

Making a startup

animatr
polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
animatr polycounter lvl 18
I know a few people on these boards are involved in start-up comapnies. It has always been a dream of mine and I am not looking to do it anytime soon, but it would be my ten year goal you could say.
But the question is, where the hell do you start?
I allready know that in order to get good funding for a game idea you have, you should probably walk in with a polished demo featuring your main core features of the game. That's a no brainer. But where do you go from there?

Like, hiring people? I work in the industry, but outside of the art side of the business, I have no clue what is needed to efficiently make a full working team. Sure, I could take a look at my company, but we do mostly console FPSs. Which, the structure might be different on the programming side depending on what type of game you are making. Enough of that, I think ya get me point.

Just wanted to hear from some other people, how they got involved in a startup. or how they made their own startup.
It would at least be cool to hear about.

Maybe it will never happen, but it's good to at least have some goals.

Thanks guys,
-Jeremy

Replies

• Daz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Daz polycounter lvl 18
    You don't necessarily need a polished demo to get funding. Collective resumes, reputations (e.g If a founding member is perhaps a big name designer in the bizz) and the old favourite scenario of 'who you know' can all get you venture capitalist funding without a demo. You most definitely need a 'bizz' guy. A couple of artists and a programmer might be great at what they do, but will most likely have little experience in running a company.