Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

How can I make this better?

Hello Polycount. I keep coming to these boards for inspiration and motivation. I graduated from school a few months ago and have been trying to get my first job in the industry... but randomly sending out my resume and reel hasn't paid off. So it's back to practicing and trying to get better.

With that said - here's my latest wip. He's about 9,500 tri's. I'm using 2 1024 maps for diffuse and normals. Still have to do the spec and alpha maps.

rfront.jpg
rback.jpg

Replies

• aesir
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    aesir polycounter lvl 18
    I think you could optimize the low poly a LOT in all sorts of various places. Especially since you have a normal map supposedly doing most of the work. Just concentrate on what polys aren't contributing anything to the silhouette and get rid of em.

One other thing you might want to keep in mind is that you dont have all that many loops going around the man-dress he's wearing,esepcially in comparison to ther areas of the body. And while I don't think you need those loops to add detail, it would probably be very helpful for animation purposes.
  • Japhir
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Japhir polycounter lvl 16
    I like the model but the texturing is still a bit plain (don't know how to improve that though laugh.gif) other than that, great job!
  • Jaco
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Jaco polycounter lvl 17
    It's a good model, but it looks a bit plain. It could use some finer details, and some nice contrast.
    The gold(?) doesn't really look like gold. Try using some brighter colours, if the guy likes to wear gold, he probably would not wear such bland colours either.
    The cloth also needs some deeper, and more detailed wrinkles.
  • low odor
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    low odor polycounter lvl 17
    Rig him..put him in a cool pose
  • Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message