Home General Discussion

Help on game development.

Hi,

My name is Jorge and I am new to game development. I am currently in school for programming and hope to learn as much about the 3D side of things as I can by the time I finish. I do understand that a team is usually required to complete a game but for now I just want to gain informaton about certain aspects. I want to make a GTA style game. I'm fairly good at modeling, texturing and animating characters, props, etc. but when it comes to modeling a city I'm unsure about the approach. Can anyone give me any tips, techniques, or advice on building a small city?

Replies

• Tulkamir
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Tulkamir polycounter lvl 18
    Hey there, just out of curiosity, why are you in school for programming but asking about modeling? Seems a bit odd.

Anyways, for building a city the best tip I could give is to do everything modularly. That means make it so that you have a bunch of pieces of buildings you can piece together like lego blocks quickly so that you can make a city with some variation fairly quickly.
  • DaFuture
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Well Tulkamir, I don't see how thats odd but basically everything I've learned, am learning and can learn about modeling I can get from online tutorials and help from other 3D artists on different forums. Now programming is a different story. Just about every time I spoke of game development I was always told I would HAVE to learn programming to make a game so I went to school for it. I'll ask you this, am I limited to ONLY asking questions about game development at school? Sure, my questions can and will get answered at school but my desire for learning pushes me to seek knowledge from wherever it exists. I've also learned "while learning" to never rely on only one school of thought. Thank you for taking the time to reply though.
  • Rick Stirling
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Rick Stirling polycounter lvl 18