Home Technical Talk

Scripting streamlines your 3d workflow

polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
Rick Stirling polycounter lvl 18
I think a lot of 3D artists overlook the power that scripting with their 3D application provides them.

"I'm an artist - so why do I care about scripting?" I hear you cry. Scripts are great for automating repetive tasks, and you don't need to be a programmer to take advantage of them, though if you understand a few of the basic aspects of programming like loops and variables then it becomes even more powerful.

I predominantly use 3d Studio Max at work (along with Silo for modelling), and I've found that maxscript is relatively easy to learn. I'm not a Maya user, but I understand that it's scripting language, Mel, is fantastic.

So how do you start to learn scripting? 3DSMax has a tool called the Maxscript Listener, which records almost everything you do in max. This is usually my first step - I open the listener, then I perform the entire task manually. The listener records all the steps (usually, sometimes the listener has selective hearing), and I can simply copy and paste them to a new script document where I can then edit until I'm content.

How about some examples of where scripting is useful?

I know that all the characters I build in my current project have the same bones, so rather than creating them from scratch each time, I have a script that loads them from an external file. After the bones are loaded, it creates 2 selection sets - 1 for all the bones (but no nubs), and another set with a drastically reduced bone list for the LOD model (no fingers, toes, helper or face bones for example). The script finds all the components that need a skin modifier applied, applies it and assigns the correct bone set - thats the benefit of a sensible naming convention for you.