Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Request: Critique my UVW work

Hello all,

I'm new to this and right now I'm in the uvw stage. It's really taking longer than I thought. I am not sure if I am doing everything correctly and would like people's advice and critique. Images provided.
uvw.jpg
head2.jpg
head-1.jpg

Also, I would like to know if my uvw map is okay so far. I am particularly having trouble on the head. There are a bit of stretch marks around the lower jaw area and on the side and top of the head. Do I need to totally eliminate them or these minor stretch marks will be unnoticeable?

Thanks in advance,

Ray

Replies

• Xeto
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Xeto polycounter lvl 17
    I'm just posting while I'm waiting for my laundry on a bunch of different things so sorry if this isn't the most helpful right now. confused.gif

From what I can see here you have a LOT of unused uv space. You can scale all those unwraps really and try to take up as much room as possible in that uv space.

Also you can overlap a lot of uv maps. like arms, legs, or hands depending on if they are unique or not. same for the face you could overlap half onto the other though I wouldn't recommend it since you probabbly want to get a good uneaven face going.

For torsos, I would suggest unwrapping it with a cylindrical unwrap and then sitting there for ever tweaking the uvs. You'll be happy you did because if you say box map the torso or something then you will have seems all over the torso.

Unwrapping is not fun and it takes for ever until you get the hang of it. A lot of streatching problems that occur are just uvs that need to be moved around a little util they look right. So I hope some of this helped and just take soem time to sit there and move stuff around until it looks right and weld any seems you can together to get rid of as many seems as you can.

Hope this helped some how... : /
  • Lightray
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thank you Xeto,