Home General Discussion

Wireless Router preferences?

polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
nitzmoff polycounter lvl 18
Seeing as though polycount's product preferences have never failed me before, I thought I would ask another.

I need a reliable wireless router for my 360 as i don't really want to run a really long ethernet cable from my office to the living room. I plan on snagging an Xbox 360 wireless network adapter (and gah, they aren't cheap...). Anyone know of a good wireless router for gaming? I've never gone wifi so I'm in the dark. Really don't want any hiccups while playing games online.

Thanks as always.

Replies

• Daz
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Daz polycounter lvl 18
    I'm no expert, but I literally just bought and installed the Netgear rangemax on sunday, and it works like a dream for me. My BF2142 demo ping was consistently awesome (23).

http://www.netgear.com/Products/RoutersandGateways/RangeMaxWirelessRoutersandGateways.aspx
  • bearkub
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    bearkub polycounter lvl 18
    I have had good luck with both Linksys and Netgear (more so Linksys, lately..). I'd have to do some digging to find model numbers, but I can if you need.
  • Jarrod1937
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Jarrod1937 polycounter lvl 15
    i kind of dislike wireless routers. wired is the way to go, get an old computer and a switch, install linux and ip-cop on the old computer. install two network cards, one for internet in and one for out, take the out to your switch and then from switch to all pc's. ip cop hasn't failed me yet. right now i have a 100 foot ethernet cable running from out my upstairs window, outside, into the downstairs window and into the guest room where we have an extra pc.
    but if do absolutly need to go wireless get a netgear, they tend to be good. at work though we hve had trouble with our d-link routers, so stay clear of them.
  • Joshua Stubbles
    Options
    Offline / Send Message