Home General Discussion

University Courses

onelegout
polycounter lvl 17
Offline / Send Message
onelegout polycounter lvl 17
Hi, Im a student looking for university courses to gain qualifications and learn skills in game design. I ultimately aim to enter the industry as a texture artist. Can anybody reccomend courses or universities which would be good for me? smile.gif
Thanks a lot for your help!
H

Replies

• KDR_11k
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    KDR_11k polycounter lvl 18
    I'd say get an art degree. Those game design schools are pointless, most of game making is founded in traditional art and science. You're probably going for an environment position then so technical drawing and such would probably be the direction to take. Some universities have computer graphics as a part of the comp sci BA but that'd still focus more on the general programming and technical side than actually learning to paint well. Unless you want to be a technical artist and do things like shaders and procedural textures, then a comp sci degree with some CG mixed in would probably be the best option.
  • onelegout
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for the advice,
    An art degree would not be so good for me though, as my main motivation for studying game development at uni would be to learn about the industry and learn practical skills for use as a texture artist. I've seen a course on 'Game Art Design' at De Montfort university (leicester) (oops, I forgot to say im from England!) - The course is centered around 3D and 2D art for computer games, and is run in conjunction with Codemasters. Has anyone heard of this university before? Did anyone here study game design/development at uni?
    Thanks for your help! smile.gif
    H
  • Toomas
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Toomas polycounter lvl 18
    Go for traditional art degree in painting or sculpting.
    Software chagnes all the time but fundamentals remain the same.
  • onelegout
    Options