Home General Discussion

Need Some Advice

polycounter lvl 17
Offline / Send Message
animeboyz polycounter lvl 17
So, I'm a recent college grad...

.... well... sort of recent.

Ok, I'm a college grad, who has spent the past 3 months freaking out because I don't know how to find a job as a modeler in the game industry.

I transferred schools in the middle of my sophomore year from Eastern Kentucky where my Major was Graphic Design, to a school in northern Ohio where my major shifted to Digital Arts.

I had never touched maya before, and since I was a transfer student I had to work my but off learning maya and ended up taking a hectic classload to graduate on time.

My Junior year I took a class called Virtual Environments. My Instructor gave the students the assignment of forming into groups and our task was to create some sort of environment/game using the Blitz3D engine. This was the class that sealed the deal for me; I wanted to work in the game industry.

Fast Foward to graduation. I take the first couple of weeks off to defuse a bit from the 4 years of college. In June I participated in a Poly Count Challenge; and more or less in July I lost steam. I didn't have any sort of structure to my life, no team of students, or colleages to keep me company or to motivate me.

Towards the end of July I got a breath of fresh air; I completed a demo reel, made some resumes, and buisness cards and headed to Boston to Attend Siggraph 2006 had a blast, met some contacts, and gave out 22 Reels/Resumes Yaddah Yaddah Yaddah.

So it's the end of August now, not replys, 1 rejection, and 21 Demo Reels Just Floating around.

I'm at a loss, I plan this week to do some follow up calls, but I have a feeling I allready know what their responses are going to be:

a. Lack of Job Experience in the Game Industry.

or

b. Weak Demo Reel