Home General Discussion

Advice on working with 3D

Tempo
polycounter lvl 17
Offline / Send Message
Tempo polycounter lvl 17
Hello. I'm 20 and I have been working with sprites in MSPaint for about seven years. I have yet to take an anatomy class which I'm still trying to do. I've used 3DsMax and Maya even more. I had a class using maya but it was for objects. I really want to get into character modeling and I've collaborated with someone on one in high school. Does anyone have any suggestions on programs to help me out or what I should do?

~Thanks

If you want to see my sprites over the years, here is my DA page, which has been updated recently:
http://rowe.deviantart.com

Replies

• aesir
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    aesir polycounter lvl 18
    Well, the first rule of art on the internet, is you either hang out with deviantart people and never leave, or you hang out in the real world, and NEVER VISIT DEVIANTART EVER AGAIN.

anyways, heres some video tutorials. I suggest you follow along with a model of your own. http://www.poopinmymouth.com/tutorial/tutorial.htm

If they're too advanced for you right now, then you should be doing all the tutorials that come with max or maya or whatever program you use, first.
  • ironbearxl
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ironbearxl polycounter lvl 18
    Bay Raitt's site is good too, check out the movies section:
    http://cube.phlatt.net/home/spiraloid/
  • oXYnary
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    oXYnary polycounter lvl 18
    If you have never taken anatomy classes, and want to do character work. You should start in that first and foremost before worrying about program particulars. Meaning focus on getting that figure background, while on the side start to pick up the 3d applications.

If you have no where local offering anatomy, check at art stores to see if they can suggest nude figure drawing groups where you can begin sketching the human body from real life versus books and others work.