Home Technical Talk

Anyone mess with Maya 8 yet?

polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
Jeremy Lindstrom polycounter lvl 18
Was wondering I heard about it the other day, haven't heard much about it..

Anyone check it out? ooo.gif

Replies

• Lee3dee
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Lee3dee polycounter lvl 18
    hopefully autodesk hasn't messed with it to make it more like Max frown.gif
  • Whargoul
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Whargoul polycounter lvl 18
    Yeah, I've been using the beta for several months now. I didn't get a chance to dig too deep into the newer stuff, but the Attribute Transfer (or whatever it's called) is awesome! You can shrink-wrap your low-poly over your high-poly mesh very quickly. You can generate UVs ona mesh based on another mesh (UV low rez, copy to high rez spatially). Pretty nice stuff.
  • arshlevon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    arshlevon polycounter lvl 18
    ohh so i guess they are trying to make it more like max then.. how are the polytools? i hear they actually have ring selct now, glad they are trying to get out of the stone age.
  • sinistergfx
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sinistergfx polycounter lvl 18
    The ring and loop select tools in 7 are pretty awesome, you can actually start and stop a loop/ring wherever you want and then continue it in a different direction.
  • malcolm
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    malcolm polycount sponsor
    I read the what's new features they are adding some shitty max features like when you create a cube you can pull the mouse on screen for width height depth. That shit is inefficient and I will disable it immediately. Looking forward to transfer uv's between two different topologies that would be a huge time saver for environment work.
  • thomasp
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    thomasp hero character