Home General Discussion

Quitting school?

Ramucho
polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
Ramucho polycounter lvl 18
Well since the general discussion forum is the best place to talk about personal problems, I thought it was time for me to try it out smile.gif

Well this may be the most important and crucial decision I'll ever made; I've been a student for two years in a computer graphics school in France(mainly for non game related stuff like making shorts, compositing and stuff). The fact is, that this school sucks so hard that more than half of the students won't attend the third year.
But here comes the real problem the fact is that I'm not french and none of my parents are, I'm actually morocan (north africa), and I can't stay in France If I don't study or work there. My parents are really affraid about that since I'd like to take a whole year to work on my portfolio and they keep telling me that going back to morocco would be a suicide since there are no jobs in my field (even if there is a UBI studio there).

Tried to make as short as possible I myself always avoid huge posts with no pics
So here it is any suggestions or thoughts are welcome!
grin.gif

Replies

• aesir
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    aesir polycounter lvl 18
    Taking a whole year to work on your portfolio and nothing else seems stupid, especially considering the other problems that it would give you.

If you needed to put together a portfolio and were doing nothing else in the meantime, it should take you a couple months tops. A month would probably be more than enough if you were working on it fulltime.

Dont quit your school unless youre either, getting a job, or transferring to another school.
  • hawken
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    hawken polycounter lvl 19
    whats the problem?