Home Technical Talk

keyframing question

polycounter lvl 19
Offline / Send Message
Slipstream polycounter lvl 19
I just started learning how to animate and I think I've gotten the basics of the software down, but there are two things I can't figure out that the tutorials I've looked through so far don't explain, (they just tell me what to do, not why)

My first question is, at one point in an animation do I put my keyframes, and the second is how do I decide upon the length of an animation?

Thanks ^^

Replies

• Slum
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Slum polycounter lvl 18
    It would be really helpful if you'd mention what software you're using.
  • MoP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MoP polycounter lvl 18
    The replies to both of your questions are ENTIRELY arbitrary and up to you.

The length of an animation - what sort of animation is it? Are we talking walk cycles here? An animated short film?
    For the former, time yourself walking and divide that into strides, usually 2 strides in a walk cycle is enough, say it takes 1 second per stride, that's 2 seconds for the cycle, which equals 60 frames long at 30fps.
    Anything else is up to you really.

If your first question was "at *what* point in an animation do i put my keyframes" ... then ... uhhh ... wherever you want? You'll need them at the start and end if your animation is looping, so it matches up. Anything else is entirely up to you. I can't tell you when to key hands, feet, arms or legs. It depends entirely on the motion and the style of the animation.
  • e_x
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    e_x polycounter lvl 18
    What software he is using doesn't really matter that much. A keyframe is a keyframe and the principles of animation are what is important.