Home General Discussion

"Self taught" Soon to be past tense?

polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
oXYnary polycounter lvl 18
I dont know if you guys have been watching developments with the industry at large the past few years via IGDA and other organizations (like the local WSA). There is a push to have employees "certified" to work in particular areas by companies and recruiters. The reason behind this is to cut the amount of money wasted shifting and testing potential candidates to have the people that will fit a particular project. It also will then allow them to make better judgements for pay grades based on not only experience, but how someone rates on these.

Realize it's not only with a certification saying "Bubba knows Y", but also how he well he knows it! In other words, it may play out that even before HR looks at your portfolio, they look at your rating. If the rating is too low even if your portfolio is killer, they will go to the next candidate who might not be as "wow", but is rated higher.

So it sounds like how this will play out with certification tests that will then rate you to a degree of competance for each area. Im sure someone self taught could pass these. But it also sounds like its putting more barriers between the future self taught and those that attend programs that address these areas.

So with this major obstacle with the increasing amount of knowledge someone entering the industry must know beyond "they do killer work". Will this make the self taught person at such a disadvantage, that their chances of knowing all the ins and outs of each certification level difficult at best? Somewhat like someone self studying for a BAR exam without first having attended law school?

I guess it depends on how these "tests" work out. It is something though that I haven't heard discussed here (and it should). More, it seems to being formed by people with no direct relationship to the distintion that the art section needs over other areas.