Home General Discussion

monitor calibration settings?

FEMTO
polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
FEMTO polycounter lvl 18
recently I bought a new monitor, and started up photoshop today. I got an error message reading the following

"the monitor profile "LG L1917S" appears to be defective. please rerun your monitor calibration software"

i am a coomplete newb with stuff like this.

Replies

• Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I figured this out recently for our studio, wrote up the process. Works great for us...

============
    1. Don't do this until your monitor(s) have been on for at least 1 hour.

2. Reset the display driver gamma control. Display Properties > Settings > Advanced > GeForce tab > Color Correction > Restore Defaults. Repeat for 2nd monitor, if present. (we mostly use Nvidia cards, your card may be different)

3. Remove the Adobe Gamma control and restart Windows... Navigate to your Startup folder and delete the Adobe Gamma shortcut (we shouldn't be using Adobe's tool because someone may not have Photoshop installed, instead everyone will be using their display driver to adjust their gamma). On my system it was in this folder... C:\Documents and Settings\Eric Chadwick\Start Menu\Programs\Startup. After deleting it, restart your computer.

4. Set the monitor controls: Brightness = 100, and Contrast = 100. If your monitor(s) have individual RGB B/C controls, set all to 100/100.

5. Hide all windows & minimize the taskbar. If you have a ton of desktop icons, move them into a temporary desktop folder so they don't overly influence your perception.

6. Adjust the vertical height control for your monitor(s). Decrease until the desktop is smaller than the monitor's usable screen space. You should see a black border on top and bottom, something like this.
    crt01.gif