Home Technical Talk

Need Advice from Artists/Modelers

apecoraro
polycounter lvl 17
Offline / Send Message
apecoraro polycounter lvl 17
My company is looking to hire an artist to help create an exact replica of a certain area of a particular city. The source data for this task will be digital photographs taken by a person walking through the area and satellite imagery.

So I was wondering if anyone had any experience with doing this kind of work and what tools would you recommend for doing it.

We are looking at using this photogrammetry software called PhotoModeler by EOS Systems. Does anyone have any experience with this software?

I have also read about more powerful photogrammetry solutions like Imetric's ICAM. Does anyone know anything about or have any experience with ICAM or perhaps some other photogrammetry software?

I am not an artist so I don't really feel qualified to judge any of these software packages, so what I am looking for is your expert opinions to help me out.

Thanks for the help.

Alex Pecoraro

Replies

• Eric Chadwick
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I haven't personally used any photogrammetry software, and I'm sure it has come a long way since I've taken a look at them.

But I would question first of all how the city region is to be used. If for a typical shooter or racing game, a city region could be fairly realistic looking but for gameplay "fun factor" reasons you wouldn't necessarily want an exact meter-for-meter replica. Distances would be shorter, elevations cheated a bit, etc.

Also there's the issue of game memory constraints, which means the artist would most likely have to duplicate a limited set of unique buildings a bunch of times to "fill out" the region.

If for a flight sim, different issues come into play, etc.